week seventeen: honey Sriracha chicken

Continuing on the quest to catch up on my blog posts (two more woo!), this week we have another Pinterest recipe that we LOVED!  I think I mentioned it briefly before, but I’m a big fan of Pinterest and browsing around for inspo in all areas of life in my free time, and recently, whilst browsing, I came across a recipe for Honey Sriracha Chicken that I knew I had to try!!  The recipe is from the blog RasaMalaysia and it seemed like a recipe that was easy enough for a beginner like me to follow, with ingredients that we already had stocked in our kitchen!  Win Win! I also had my friend Shannon over for this week’s dinner, my first guest outside of my family/boyfriend, which made this meal extra special and exciting!!  SO here we go on our honey Sriracha adventure!

WEEK SEVENTEEN: HONEY SRIRACHA CHICKEN

*I strayed a little from the original recipe just a FYI for those who want to give this a try themselves.  We doubled the recipe since we had 4 people eating, but everything still turned out great!

Ingredients:

  • 8 chicken thighs
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons Tamari sauce
  • 2 teaspoons Sriracha chili sauce
  • 2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar (could also use rice vinegar)
  • salt
  • white sesame seeds were also listed in the original recipe as optional, we didn’t use any, but I do want to add them next time!

Prep:

  • defrost  chicken
  • chop garlic

Instructions:

  • combine honey, Sriracha, Tamari sauce, and apple cider vinegar to form the marinade and whisk together well
  • add the garlic and marinade to the chicken, mixing well, and let that all sit and marinade together for 30 minutes
  • IMPORTANT to note that here is where we diverge again from the recipe online.  The blog post gives instructions for cooking the chicken in a skillet, but also says that you can bake or grill the chicken as well.
    • Since we have our resident BBQ master here at our house, we decided to let him handle the cooking of the chicken on the grill!
    • I always love this, mostly because it is delicious!! But also because less work for me, if I’m being honest 😉
  • So while the chicken is marinading and BBQing, I got the rest of the meal ready to go:
    • clean and prep asparagus, place on baking sheet, drizzle with oil and salt, and bake @ 350 degrees for about 12-15 minutes
    • follow instructions on back of the Rice-A-Roni cheesy rice packet and time accordingly
    • prep salad mix
    • open a nice bottle of Rose and enjoy! 🙂
  • and that was pretty much it for the BBQ instructions, you can follow the link above to see instructions for baking and/or cooking the chicken in a skillet

DINNERRRR is served and it was EXCELLENT!!  A tasty combo of sweet and spicy, the consensus was that we could’ve added a little more Sriracha to give it even more of a spicy kick, but everyone, even my special dinner guest, was super impressed with how it turned out and it will definitely be made and consumed again soon!!

XOXO

Cooking Carli

 

 

Leave a Reply

