week fourteen: macaroni salad

Hellooo blog fam!!!  As some of you (maybe one or two at the most 😉 ) may have noticed, I have been MIA for a few weeks now and I’m so sad about that!!! I was on such a great roll in my cooking endeavor and then my roommates left me for a week, family vacation happened, and a few weeks of very simple dinners (aka left overs) ensued and here we are a month-ish since my last blog post ah!  I’ve also recently cooked a few things for the blog that I’ve just failed to actually put up on the blog, so hopefully I’ll have a few new posts coming at you in the next few days to get us back on track!! Up first is just a side dish that I made for dinner a few weeks ago (BBQ master was working his magic so I was relived of main dish duties), macaroni salad!!! An easy, delicious side dish for a good summer meal!

WEEK 14: MACARONI SALAD

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1 package Ditalini noodles
  • ~ 2 celery stalks
  • 2-3 green onions
  • ~ 1 cup mayonnaise (or to taste)
  • 1-2 tablespoons milk
  • ~ 1/2 tablespoon pickle relish (or to taste)
  • salt and pepper

Prep:

  • One thing that is important to note, the longer the salad is able to sit/set/cool down the better, ideally for about 3-4 hours, even overnight.  So make sure to plan accordingly when doing this for dinner!
  • hard boil eggs
    • Now I had never done this before, mostly because I’m not a big egg fan unless said egg is scrambled or fried, or like mixed in a cake 😉 but as it turns out, hard boiling eggs is very easy and nothing to fret about
    • place in eggs in boiling water for about 10 minutes and let them cool before peeling and chopping them up for the salad
  • chop celery and green onions
  • boil water to prep for noodles

Instructions:

  • cook noodles (takes about 10-12 minutes)
  • drain and place under cool running water to cool noodles down faster
  • make sure all excess water is out and then place in large bowl
  • mix in other ingredients
    • eggs, celery, green onion, mayonnaise, milk, pickle relish, salt and pepper
  • stir together real nice and place in fridge to let cool and set

THE END! 🙂 That is all there is to it folks, a tasty side dish to go along with any number of your summer meals!  Mine turned out great and was the perfect pairing with some good BBQ!

XOXO

Cooking Carli

Leave a Reply

