week seven: tilapia

We are going FISHIN’ this week on the blog!! We are also experiencing our first minor mishap on the stove. lol Which was bound to happen eventually considering my newbie chef status, so really it should be a celebration that I made it to week seven before burning something. I would also like to point out that my mom assured me that it was definitely not my fault, so I’m taking it in stride and blaming it all on the stove. 🙂

*TILAPIA*

Ingredients:

  • 1 or 2 filets of tilapia
    • For those who aren’t familiar with this yummy fish, it is very mild in “fish-y” flavor and there was no little bones to eat around or take out when cooking, which are both wins in my book in terms of eating (and now cooking) seafood.
  • 1 egg
  • a little milk
  • ~ 1 cup flour
  • ~1 cup of panko (more or less depending on the size of your filet)
  • asparagus
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • Rice-a-Roni cheesy rice
    • This is not essential lol but a really nice side dish to go with your fish
  • salad
    • also not essential but good 😉

Prep:

  • defrost your fish
  • prep your fish coating materials (I’m sure there is a better term for this but I obviously do not know it) lol
    • crack egg in pie tin, add a little milk, and mix with fork
    • place flour in pile (in shape of your fish) on some wax paper
    • place panko in a separate (but equally shaped 😉 ) pile on wax paper as well
  • if you choose to make the cheesy rice, start that while your fish defrosts
    • the directions for the rice are very nicely written right on the box so I would point you in that direction if you want more specific details
      • admittedly deferring to the box here mostly due to laziness *hehe*
  • clean and cut your asparagus and place in a nice neat row on a cooking sheet
  • preheat oven to 350 degrees for the asparagus

Instructions:

  • Once tilapia is defrosted, run under water and separate filets if you have multiple
  • Coat fish in coating materials
    • place the filet in the flour first, making sure entire filet is covered
    • then place in the egg mixture, coating entirely
    • finally place in panko pile, again making sure entire filet is well covered
    • repeat for as many filets as you have
  • place a large frying pan on the stove, drizzle olive oil to coat bottom of pan, and turn heat on medium to cook the fish
  • place filets in the pan and WATCH CLOSELY during this critical cooking period
    • I give this warning because it was at this point in this cooking adventure that my tilapia got a teensy bit burnt
    • tilapia cooks pretty quickly, especially when your burner gets too hot too quickly, which is what my mom and I decided most definitely happened here, hence, the blaming of the stove.
  • when the first side of the filet looks like it’s a good, golden brown, flip it over and start cooking the other side
  • keep checking and flipping when needed, cooking for about 15ish minutes total
  • when it is golden brown on the outside and a pretty white on the inside, you will know it is done!
  • right around the time you start cooking the fish, prep your asparagus by drizzling olive oil over it and sprinkling salt and pepper to taste
  • place the asparagus in the oven and cook for ~15 mins as well, it should finish about the same time as the fish
  • check that handy-dandy rice box  for exact cooking times here as well, it doesn’t take longer than 15 mins to cook either, so really this meal was a pretty quick one as a whole!
  • give the DINNERRRR call and you are good to go!

SO overall, after getting the trauma of my first burnt fish out-of-the-way and really embracing the idea that it was all the stove’s fault, this meal turned out to be another successful endeavor!  It did not take long to prep or cook compared to some of the previous weeks, which I am ALL about.  And it was healthy and delicious, so win-win in my book!  I would also like to shout out one of my best friends from grad school who once made this incredible, spicy, tilapia dish when we were in school, because I’ve decided I’m going to figure out how to re-create that dish next time I do some tilapia cooking!  I’ve been inspired, so keep an eye out for some SPICY FISH in the weeks to come! 🙂

XOXO

Cooking Carli

 

 

Leave a Reply

