week one: shrimp scampi

I know I know, seems like we might be aiming a little too high for the first meal attempt with this dish, but my mom seems to have an inflated idea of my actual abilities (a blessing and a curse really) so we are going for it!!

For those of you who have never heard of this tasty treat, it is basically just a garlic and butter pasta with shrimp mixed in!  Sounds fancier than it is, but it is super yummy and as I found out, not terribly difficult to whip up! 🙂

*SHRIMP SCAMPI*

Ingredients:

  • ~6 cloves of garlic, chopped (depends on how much garlic you like, my mom informed me that “we like a lot of garlic,” and I did not argue)
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 bag frozen, de-veined shrimp
  • spaghetti (however much you want to eat)

Prep:

  • chop/dice the garlic
  • finish de-veining the shrimp *apparently the pre de-veined shrimp is only partly de-veined. lol or at least my mom doesn’t like this second vein that may or may not be okay to eat?  So we took them all out, but that may or may not be unnecessary when making this dish.
    • SIDE NOTE: this was my favorite part of the lesson, because my mom informed me that these are the tasks that I should delegate to my wonderful boyfriend when he is OF COURSE helping me cook all of these things TOGETHER one day. and I already told him about this and he’s already SO excited!) ❤
  • pour yourself a glass of wine to make this whole cooking thing seem super classy and fabulous!

Instructions:

  • drizzle olive oil onto your large frying pan, a decent amount, don’t go crazy
  • place stick of butter, garlic, basil, and oregano into pan
  • turn on high heat and stir occasionally until melted
  • during this time, also be boiling water for spaghetti noodles
  • place shrimp in pan and flip when bottom side is turning white/pink (shrimp cooks pretty fast, ~10 mins or so)
  • cook noodles ~10 minutes
  • when all the shrimpies look good and cooked and your noodles are just right, drain the noodles and combine everything together

And then you are essentially done! You can add whatever side dish you would like, maybe a salad or some bread, but other than that you are now good to go!

The last step to cooking any dinner (per mama carli tradition) is to stand in the kitchen and yell “DINNERR” in a sweet, sing-songy voice, signaling others in the house that the food is ready to be consumed!  *cue papa carli singing back some form of acknowledgement, most commonly “Manjia, manjia” or “ALRIGHTTT!”*

So I finished with that step, and we ate, and it was ACTUALLY GOOD!  To be fair, I was supervised the whole time and there weren’t really too many ways to mess this up lol but still, week one was a success and I’m looking forward to seeing where next week takes us!

XOXO,

Cooking Carli

Leave a Reply

